Wednesday 20 December

Posted: May 7, 2017 by saraherhodes in 1916

I hadn’t been in the office two days before Mayman hopped off on a fortnights leave. I have to run the whole office with one other officer to assist me. So far I reckon I have done pretty well especially as I haven’t got into the routine yet. My new room is looking very nice. Have quite a nice collection of pretty girls looking at me. There are seven respectable photos on my table. I have dropped into a lovely mess at Headquarters with table linen, silver, serviettes etc, I can almost imagine I am in London again.

The weather has been rotten the last week. Everything frozen up. Today we had rain, which has frozen since. We are going to have some festival for Christmas I believe. The mess rooms are being painted, varnished, stained, papered and decorated.

Received your cable- many thanks.

Well I must close to catch the mail.
Lots of Love,
LANCE.

Leave a Reply

