Thursday 14 December

Posted: May 7, 2017 by saraherhodes in 1916

Sometime ago I wrote to major Herbert at the 13th Training Battalion saying I wouldn’t mind a job. On Wednesday morning I received a reply telling me to transfer if I could. I also received about twenty Australian letters. I went straight to the Adjutant and he let me transfer. I ought to have gone from Ludgershall to Andover, changed trains there and gone to Salisbury, changed there for Codford. As the crow flies, it is about 13 miles but by train about 60. I went to London stayed at Millicents and came down to Codford tonight which made my transfer a journey of 190 miles.

This is a fine camp, far different to the other. The officers are in rooms in huts. They are lined with wood and as all the fellows are here for six months, they have rigged things up right. Bill Christophers is Adjutant. I am writing this in his den. It is about 12 x 24 feet. He has matting on the floor, cane chairs, electric reading lamp, curtains, pictures, photos, pipe rack and everything needful for comfort. My room is bare at present but I will soon fix things up. There are three of my battalion here so I won’t be lonely.

Leave a Reply

