Glenshee Lodge, 5 November

Posted: May 4, 2017 by saraherhodes in 1916

A mail arrived last night with letters from you all, ranging from 13-21st September, also a Journal and Sydney Mail. What a toll of death your letters had. I hear most of the casualties but I generally get a few from the papers and letters.

My arm has been playing funny jokes the last few weeks. I have quite a lot of movement in it, but can’t raise it above my shoulder and have no strength in it when up, at all. Just lately it has been patchy, one day quite well, and the next very weak and painful to every movement. The shoulder seems to be the trouble. I am only hoping it remains so till after my next board.

You are starting early enough with your Christmas box. I have never received the parcel you sent for my birthday. You didn’t say what it had in it. Poor Mrs Jones, she is in trouble. I am always running across men who say how sorry they are to hear he is dead. He was very popular with everyone. His commission didn’t make any difference to him. It is only against rifle fire practically that an officer runs any more risk. Of course one can’t stay in shelter so much perhaps, but in this case, it was a case of anyone who was in the way of the shell.

We have Col. Salisbury, a Queenslander at the head of our Battalion now and he is very popular. Art Kinnish was sniped just as he was leaving the trenches. He had gone through all the stunt and was being relieved.

You have no idea what London is like at night. All the lights are out and motors and taxis are only allowed to carry side lights which are very dim. all you see is a lot of eyes blinking at you from these cabs. I have made quite a name for myself by securing taxis at night. After 9pm, no one is to whistle, so the only thing to do is to wait till a taxi passes empty (which is seldom) and jump on the footboard. I go diving off into a whirling mass of wheels after these taxis.

When I started out to see London, K. was showing me around. Now it has come to me showing K. round. Today we had lunch at the St. James Restaurant, then went out to Kew Gardens and came back to the Trocadero for tea and then home. The gardens must have been beautiful in the season before the war. Now it is very much neglected and the flowers are all dead. I received that book on flowers. It was very goods and is beautifully done. Bill Christophers has his Captaincy and is joining our training battalion for six months.

Leave a Reply

