21 July, poppies are as thick as the grass…

Posted: November 25, 2016 by saraherhodes in 1916

Lately we have been putting in most of our time at route marching. We are still in the same place doing nothing. The weather is just beautiful. It is a treat to go out in the day. Everywhere there are wild flowers of all colours. Red and blue predominate. Poppies are as thick as the grass almost. The chief flowers are poppies, cornflowers, daisies and buttercups. The place reminds me very much of One Tree Hill in spring.

My French is improving very much. I have a very nice little girl here who tells me all the village scandal with the aid of a dictionary and phrase book between us we get on fine. It is most amusing, I get half way through a sentence and then have to bolt for my book. However, I can do more than ask for a drink now. I get the whole family round me and gabble and wave my arms and they do likewise, and we generally get a vague idea of what is meant. We are all managing to knock a lot of fun out of life, and are leading quite the simple life.

Leave a Reply

