no news

Posted: December 20, 2015 by saraherhodes in 1915

I am afraid I must again open with the now white haired excuse of having no news. You read of the stirring life of a soldier etc., and wonder how it is that we never have much to say in our letters. In fact it is not life, it is an existence. Since my last letter very little has happened. We get up at 7a.m. instead of 6.30; go on parade, and finish (as far as the men are concerned) but I have plenty of little odd jobs to do.

A new departure has come into force, the officers and N.C.O.’s parade an hour before general parade, and parade with the companies for two hours. One has to endure the agonies of having the detail work only known imperfectly, and then be pulled to pieces.

On Sunday I managed to get a bath, or rather a wash at a well, and then took my cast off clothing to a village, and had it washed.

Your letters have mentioned sundry articles on the way – hope they turn up soon. Another mail is about due but no word has come through. The trouble is that we never know how much of our mail has gone down.  I know that my letters of about the 14th November have most probably been sunk, and that part of our incoming mail was sunk. In that out-going mail I had quite a number of those impromptu Christmas cards. News is very scarce here concerning both Gallipoli and Bulgaria. What wild rumours we can manage to rake up are the reverse of cheering. We haven’t the slightest idea of our next destination. I have three places in my mind that I wouldn’t be in the slightest bit surprised to hit. One is to the N.W., and the other due N., and the other is S. I suppose you can guess where they are. It has been a disagreeable day today, very cold and dusty – rather an uncommon combination, but very unpleasant.

Leave a Reply

