Convalescent Hospital, Zeitown

Posted: May 10, 2015 by saraherhodes in 1915

Monday 10/5/15

Life has worked its way back to the monotony of routine again. Yesterday I had leave and went over to Heliopolis and saw Art Kinnish and DuRieu, they are back at Luna Park again. DuRieu has had the bullet extracted from his neck, but Kinnish still has one in his foot. In the evening I went over to the 9th Light Horse and tried to find my gang cousins. The ones that weren’t at church were on picket duty in Cairo, so I didn’t see any of them.

I heard a splendid address delivered br Mr.J.J.Virgo Gen. Secretary of the Y.M.C.A. in London. He is a splendid speaker and interested everyone in the hospital. Tomorrow I believe we move to Helouan, a health resort about 20 miles up the Nile. There are mineral springs there, so perhaps we are to ”take the waters”. The Sultan Hussein has given his father’s palace to the Military, to be used as a hospital. I am rather looking forward to the trip.

An English lady living near our camp has very kindly given us the use of one of her rooms for a reading and writing room – where I am now.

Leave a Reply

