ashore

Posted: April 4, 2015 by saraherhodes in 1915

I went ashore yesterday and rather enjoyed myself. I have charge of our section and got on pretty well.  The other chaps were saying that it was an easy day. I didn’t feel the marching at all. We went through one village, it is very much like Mudros. It was a regular treat marching on the grass, it is just like a thick green carpet, and there was a lovely earthy smell rising from it all the time. There is a lot of rock about, looks to be of volcanic origin. I don’t know if this region is at all volcanous, but when the battalion went on the bivouac, they stopped at some hot springs and had baths. There is another bivouac tomorrow. I think it is four days this time.

‘A’ Coy. is staying aboard and suppling all the guards. I am rather sorry because I wanted to see something of the island. We are on guard today – I am Corporal of the guard. Didn’t take them long to push me in, did they? I heard last night that the “Ascanius” was very nearly torpedoed by a submarine.  Two days after the blockade was declared she was running round the coast of England with passengers when they sighted a submarine. Capt. Chrimes ordered full speed and kept up a dodging course, and after a few hours managed to shake off the ‘sub’.


Notes:

Current location:

ColoniesMap1914 19140312

Leave a Reply

