sick

Posted: March 28, 2015 by saraherhodes in 1915

I am still on the sick list, Davey has been taking my place in the crew. He is a permanent member now.

Friday

The doctor lanced my boil and I was again tied up like a sick fowl.

Saturday

In the afternoon I pulled the bandage off. They have a peculiar manner of treating boils here. They just jab apiece of cotton wool in some luke-warm water and slam it on my boil and bandage it up, instead of bathing it at intervals. This bandage has to last for 24 hours. Friday afternoon another mail closed for Australia. I wrote two letters to you with the same contents.

Today I missed a treat. The crew pulled round the fleet, visiting all the war boats in the harbor. There are 7 British boats, 2 French, and 1 Russian. They saw nearly all the boats that were mixed up in the scrap at the Dardanelles. They went over the “Queen Elizabeth”. I wish I could have been there. I expect Tom Whyte will write a good description of it and I will try and copy it if he will let me read it.


Notes:

Current location:

ColoniesMap1914 19140312

Leave a Reply

