Bazaars

Posted: February 23, 2015 by saraherhodes in 1915

Yesterday we had to repeat the rearguard action that we did on Friday, on account of some bungle or other. I think every part of me was dripping wet, bar my throat, and hat was as dry as a lime kiln. As I missed my leave last week, I was given a pass from 9a.m. to 10.30p.m. I spent the morning going through the Turkish and Silversmith’s Bazaars. They are simply a narrow street, with shops on each side. I rode a donkey through and my feet were knocking each side. You can see any article being made, and purchase it after if you wish. There are practically no factories here, all the goods are made in this way. I saw carpets being made, all sorts of silver, gold and brass work as well. I bought a buckle made of oxidised silver for 10 piastres. The trader wanted 32 for it. I stuck for ten and got it. He looked imploringly at me, and heaved a sigh and said “Ah monsieur I will take it, and hope it brings my Ten pounds”. I am going to the Barrage of the Nile this afternoon. In fact I am on my way now. I am writing this in the train. This Barrage is about 16 miles above Cairo, it supplies the water for the city. On either side are six native villages, the country is all cultivated.


Notes:

Current notes:

ColoniesMap1914 19141208

Leave a Reply

