Robbery

Posted: November 28, 2014 by saraherhodes in 1914

The Red Sea is keeping up it’s reputation we are having it very hot.  Your remember how Kipling in “Plain tales from the hills” describes an Indian town at night.  The moon is shining, and it is very still and hot, and coolies are sleeping by the road and in the streets.  Some are groaning in their sleep, others muttering, some prowling around like dogs.  This describes our decks every night.

Last night it was very cold, and quite rough.  I went to bed early with a couple of blankets and an overcoat over me.  During the night my coat blew off, I leaned over my bunk and another man below me had apparently rolled himself up in my coat, so I tugged until I recovered it, later on I got up and found my coat on the deck, I had robbed the poor fellow of his own coat, and it was so cold.

I am going to sleep below tonight, for the first time since sighting Western Australia.


Notes:

Current location:

ColoniesMap1914 19141128

Leave a Reply

