A sunset

Posted: November 20, 2014 by saraherhodes in 1914

I have just been watching one of the most gorgeous sunsets I have ever seen, it is quite different to Australian sunsets, and I thought I must tell you about it before it had passed from my mind. If I can get you to understand an infinitesimal portion of the beauty I will be satisfied.

Taking the moon as my apex and working down.  It is a new moon in a mass of slate coloured clouds, then a blank of dark blue sky, shading down to a beautiful azure tone; in this sea of colour, dark powdery clouds are floating about, below the blue belt it gradually tones down to a gold – pure molten gold, I have never seen it before.

Artists have tried to paint this tone in Egyptian scenes, but they do not succeed in getting exactly natures tint. All over this fleecy, bluey shaded clouds are dotted about.  If one looks at a pond or pool at dusk, with reeds and sedges dotted all over it, the effect is right.  Then again below this molten pool is a darker belt of clouds all fretted into fantastic shapes, very like pictures I have seen of the Norwegian Fiords. Away to the left the picture changes to scenes nearer home.  It is a true map of the Port River opening into the sea, in silver backed by dark slatey clouds.  This is a poor attempt to describe the scene, but really it is too great to be described with any degree of accuracy.


Notes:

Current location (approx):

ColoniesMap1914 19141119

Leave a Reply

